4 Foods That You Never Knew Had Gluten In Them

If you or someone you know has just found out you have a gluten intolerance, this can be a worrying time. After all, wheat and other grains, which is where gluten comes from, is probably used to make many of the foods you know and love, so finding out you’re not supposed to eat them any longer can be daunting, to say the least.

If all that wasn’t hard enough, to make matters worse there are probably lots of foods that you had no idea contained gluten.

To help you out, we’ve put together a list of five foods you probably didn’t know contained gluten. So buckle up and prepare to be disappointed, although there are probably some alternatives you can purchase which we’ll also go into.

Processed Meats

Many prefer to avoid processed meats anyway, as these can be extremely unhealthy and bad for weight loss, but if you’re going gluten-free then you might have another reason to avoid them.

That’s because, while you might not expect it, some processed meats like sausages, deli meats and even some canned meats can contain gluten. 

This can happen if they’re seasoned or processed with ingredients that contain gluten, so if you’re going to indulge in these then be sure to check the packaging first.

Malt Vinegar

If you love to splash vinegar all over your chips, sorry to be the bearer of bad news but this contains barley, which contains gluten.

As well as avoiding bottled vinegar, you’ll also need to avoid pickled items as these have also been in contact with the tangy condiment. Likewise, many sauces, chutneys and salad dressings may also contain vinegar.


Liquorice is the very definition of an acquired taste, but some people love it. However, for those who enjoy this divisive sweet treat, it can actually cause reactions due to the gluten it surprisingly contains.

Again, not something you’ll likely be consuming on a regular basis, but if you enjoy liquorice every now and then, you should know that it often contains wheat flour as a binding agent.

Soy Sauce

This one is a particularly difficult pill to swallow, but soy sauce also contains gluten. Although you may not use soy sauce at home very often, it’s used in a lot of Asian cooking, including Chinese, Japanese and Korean cuisine, among others.

Meal Prep Services

Let’s face it, avoiding gluten can be a challenge. While there may be gluten-free alternatives, it can be difficult to find the time to cook healthy, nutritious meals that won’t aggravate your intolerance.

Until now, that is, as we offer gluten-free meal prep for people like you who want delicious, healthy and satisfying food. Furthermore, our meals are designed to offer the correct balance of macronutrient and micronutrient balance, with a focus on adequate protein, healthy fats and controlled carbs.

So if you have a gluten allergy, speak to us today and we’ll get to work tailoring you a package that suits your dietary preferences and requirements.